Managing a VNC server

Starting a VNC server manually:

By default for images with VNC capability, a VNC is only launched for the User that launched the Instance.

If you have added additional users accounts to your Instance, and those users have set their password, they must manually start their own VNC desktop using the 'vncserver' command:

[USER@js-19-210 ~]$ vncserver :1

 where ":1" is a display number between 1-9.


Note: If a VNC server is already running on that particular display number you will receive an error:

Error: A VNC or X Server is already running as :1 [DisplayInUse]

If this arises, chose a different display number.


Note: If a User has logged out within the VNC desktop, this manually stops the VNC server.

By default, the primary owner of the instance has a guacamole-based vncserver running on display :5, as well as servers on displays :1 and :2.

To restart the default guacamole-based server use the command:

[USER@js-19-210 ~]$ vncserver -config ~/.vnc/config.guac :5

Stopping a VNC server:

A VNC server may be stopped using the command:

[USER@js-19-210 ~]$ vncserver -kill :1

where ":1" is the display number of a VNC server owned by that User.

Logging out of the desktop in the VNC also stops the VNC server.

• Note: Killing an active VNC server before data/files have been save or icon settings stored may result in a loss of data/settings.


Restarting a VNC server:

If a User has stopped their VNC server either by logging out of the desktop within the VNC or with the '-kill' option to the 'vncserver' command, they may simply restart the server after SSH'ing in, as above