Access your Globus s3 bucket

 

 

1. Create a Globus collection to access your bucket(s)

The globus-connect-server collection create command creates a new mapped collection. This command requires three arguments:

  1. STORAGE_GATEWAY_ID - The ID of the storage gateway created in this step.

  2. BASE_PATH - This is the path which is the root of the mapped collection. You can use / to provide access to the entire namespace of the storage gateway.

  3. DISPLAY_NAME - The name of the collection.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 globus-connect-server collection create \ ea79b37e-681f-4d42-969d-38b9a916f5f3 \ / "Research Data on Jetstream" \ --organization 'Indiana University' \ --contact-email ssudarsh@iu.edu Collection ID: 5bd422b0-60c2-4c2d-9605-feb5cae3d3ea

When your collection is created you can find it on the Globus webapp.

 

Once you chose your collection, Globus will prompt you to login.

If this is the first time accessing the collection you will be asked to consent to allow Globus data services to access data on your behalf.

2. Register AWS credentials

You will need to ec2 credentials for this step. The CLI command is below.

openstack ec2 credentials create

You can save the creds in a config to use from the CLI/programatically. It's generally kept in the text file ~/.aws/config and looks like this:

1 2 3 4 [default] region=RegionOne aws_access_key_id=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx aws_secret_access_key=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

You will need to register your aws credentials.

 

Once you’ve registered your credentials you should see your existing buckets in the Globus App.

 

Note: If you don’t see your buckets you might have to delete and register your AWS credentials again. This is a bug that Globus is aware of and the team is actively working on it.

At this point, you can click the two-column icon next to “Panels” at the top of the page to open another Globus endpoint and click “Transfer or Sync to…” transfer data.

If you’re not familiar with transferring data using Globus, take a moment to quickly run through the guide here or here.

 

Shelve your VM until you need it again

When you’ve finished moving data in or out of your buckets, you should shelve the VM that’s running Globus Connect Server. While it’s running, it will consume your Jetstream allocation. When you shelve it, it will stop consuming your allocation. You won’t be able to access your bucket using Globus while the VM is shelved, but you can always unshelve it if you need to use Globus to move data again.