When you upload an image to Openstack, you set the visibility of your image. Our documentation for uploading an image from the CLI sets visibility to community. However, if you’ve set it to shared or private, you will need to change that if you want to share it.
If visibility is set to shared or private, visibility will be limited to the project/allocation where you uploaded (e.g. only members of your TG-xxxxxxx project will see it initially). If you need to share it with another allocation but don’t want to make it visible to all projects, you’ll want to verify that the visibility is shared by doing:
To change the visibility for an image your allocation/project owns, do:
Then to share it with a project you do:
Where project is the TG-xxxxxxxxx number of the allocation you want to share it with. Someone from the other project you're sharing it with would then need to do
to accept the image.
You can set the visibility property to community (all can see and boot), shared (only those you specify can see and boot), private (only your allocation can see and boot). For more information on Glance visibility properties, see https://wiki.openstack.org/wiki/Glance-v2-community-image-visibility-design